Beck Isle Museum

Beck Isle Museum (皮克靈) - 評論

Beck Isle Museum
4.5
特色博物館
閱讀更多
上午 10:00 - 下午 5:00
星期一
上午 10:00 - 下午 5:00
星期二
上午 10:00 - 下午 5:00
星期三
上午 10:00 - 下午 5:00
星期四
上午 10:00 - 下午 5:00
星期五
上午 10:00 - 下午 5:00
星期六
上午 10:00 - 下午 5:00
當地地區
地址

4.5
432 則評論
非常好
338
非常好
83
一般
6
0
糟透了
5

Andrew G
英國Penicuik688 則投稿
2022年4月
Very interesting, though a bit thought provoking to see things that were part of your early years now displayed in a museum! Time flys. Nice staff, and the blacksmith display was extremely interesting.
發表日期:2022年5月15日
這則評論是 Tripadvisor 會員的主觀意見,而非 TripAdvisor LLC 的意見。

Patricia
英國牛津213 則投稿
2022年5月 • 好友旅行
An absolute treat, we happened on this museum by chance and to add to our luck it was a day when they had crafts people in. The museum itself had a lovely cared for feel.
發表日期:2022年5月10日
這則評論是 Tripadvisor 會員的主觀意見,而非 TripAdvisor LLC 的意見。

Andy J
英國唐克斯特1 則投稿
2022年5月
We recently visited North Yorkshire and decided to head to Pickering. I had looked up local attractions on Google and decided to visit the local museum after seeing a nice video of the place on YouTube. The video dated from 2019, and we were not prepared for how different the museum would be in 2022 - and not in a good way!
The staff in the museum entrance and shop were pleasant, but that is the only really positive thing. Some of the displays I saw on YouTube were no longer there - the cameras and the ironmonger's have gone and the pub is "different". We were disappointed overall, £7 each is expensive to enter a place which doesn't take very long to look round! We were told that our ticket gives us free entry for the next year but, as we don't live locally we wouldn't be likely to take advantage of that, and even if we did live nearby we wouldn't visit again.
發表日期:2022年5月8日
這則評論是 Tripadvisor 會員的主觀意見,而非 TripAdvisor LLC 的意見。
Dear Andy We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit to our museum. Thank you for letting us know that our promotional video from 2019 (filmed 2018) is still available to view. Due to changes at the museum, we had taken it down from our website but can see it is still available via a third-party platform. Although we cannot take this down we have added a comment to let people know that the cameras and fairground models are not currently on display. You mentioned the ironmongers which isn’t on the promotional video and we were wondering if perhaps you had seen another video that we're not aware of other than 'Forget Me Not'. If this is the case could you let us know where you found it, so we can let people know that we have made changes to the museum. Thank you.
發表日期:2022年5月10日
這則回應是管理階層代表的主觀意見,而非 TripAdvisor LLC。

marilyntuson
英國恩菲爾德32 則投稿
2022年5月
Such a nice building and pretty garden. Wish we had had more time to look at a wonderful collection of such varied items. Dave and Pete were so kind to demonstrate their blacksmith skills and gave us a good chuckle too! Recommended !
發表日期:2022年5月7日
這則評論是 Tripadvisor 會員的主觀意見,而非 TripAdvisor LLC 的意見。

Vikki W
英國馬爾頓7 則投稿
2022年4月
I had always enjoyed visiting Beck Isle, though owing to the pandemic I didn't visit between 2019 and 2022. And I'm beginning to wish I hadn't bothered, and just remembered it how it was rather than seeing how it has been ruined since I last visited.
There used to be a dummy at the door, but that has gone (as have the majority of the other dummies in the displays, which makes the displays seem "sterile"!) What used to be the front desk is now a space, where the print room used to be there is now a cavernous shop area where you buy your ticket.
The Model Room (as was) housed a 1970s display, which was OK but I preferred the old Model Room and the display of photographs. Also there used to be a DVD of the upstairs exhibitions for those with mobility problems, but this has been removed so now people with limited mobility have no opportunity to see what it upstairs - hardly fair when they have to pay to go in! The iPad which had the Book of Remembrance on has also disappeared.
The old Camera Room has gone, now it is cordoned off and there is an old fireplace in there (which was discovered as the room was being "renovated"). I used to like the old cameras, being a keen photographer.
What used to be the Dairy has now been converted into the Pub (more on that shortly). It looks sterile and charmless in its new location. The original Pub was in a beamed ceiling room upstairs, and was quite atmospheric - not this one!
Going upstairs - originally you would come to the Pub first, but not any more - it has now been closed off to make another office (I thought Beck Isle was a museum not an office block!) That totally spoils the character of the first floor area. The rest of the first floor hasn't changed too much, except the Village Shop looks a little less well stocked.
Back downstairs towards the yard - the Victorian Parlour used to house a special display case containing the Book of Honour of the war dead, but not any more. The old Cottage Kitchen is now the Dairy.
The outside block has not escaped unscathed either - the old Rosedale Gallery has been ruined by removing the Rosedale exhibition and replacing it with children's games and activities, which spoils it for people who are interested in the history of the area rather than looking round a nursery! The old Activity Room, where the activities for children used to be, is now closed off. The old Ironmonger shop has also been destroyed and replaced with the Printers workshop.
If I'd known the museum had been ruined to that extent I would have saved my £7. I know my ticket allows me free entry for the rest of the year, but to be honest I don't intend to go again! Don't waste your money.
發表日期:2022年5月2日
這則評論是 Tripadvisor 會員的主觀意見,而非 TripAdvisor LLC 的意見。
Dear Vikki Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to our museum. We have as you detailed made some changes to the museum in the last few years which we believe has improved the experience for our visitors and volunteers. The printers has been relocated in order to create a warm welcome for visitors, much needed circulation space during Covid, a more pleasant working environment for our volunteers and a shop which contributes to our income, as we receive no core funding from the government. Unfortunately, as a Grade II listed building we are unable to offer access upstairs in the main house but do have stairlifts in place for access to the outdoor galleries. The access film that you mention was just a short general promotional film which did not showcase the upstairs rooms. We are however in the process of securing funding to create an access film and have consulted with our visitors about this. The old fireplace is a fantastic find which has been dated to the early 1800s. No one involved with the museum knew it was there, we are very excited by the find and hope to renovate that room as a kitchen with the fireplace as a centrepiece. We’re delighted that the Rosedale Exhibition is now on loan to Rosedale Village, so their history can be shared with their visitors. We aim to make the museum welcoming and enjoyable to all visitors and have used part of the gallery to create a much-used space for families to do hands-on activities, which include, dressing up, Victorian washing and craft activities linked to the collection. The remaining space has given us the opportunity to display our Sydney Smith collection and create a small changing exhibition to showcase some of our amazing collections. As an accredited museum it is important to us that we provide access to our collections by changing exhibitions and that we care for our objects by ‘resting’ them from time to time. If there are any items you would especially like to see that are not on display you are welcome to book an appointment to view them. You will find the contact email on our website www.beckislemuseum.org.uk
發表日期:2022年5月10日
這則回應是管理階層代表的主觀意見,而非 TripAdvisor LLC。

Beth B
York, England, United Kingdom112 則投稿
2022年4月
This is a great little museum, and it's TARDIS like - far bigger than it looks. They have children's activities and trails too, really worth a visit.
發表日期:2022年4月26日
這則評論是 Tripadvisor 會員的主觀意見,而非 TripAdvisor LLC 的意見。

stevedevizes
英國迪韋齊斯14 則投稿
2022年3月
Can't recommend this place enough, from the friendly welcome on arrival to the quality of the displays and information.
From the outside, you think it's quite a small museum and it tempers your expectations as to what you'll find inside. However, when you get inside, the place is a bit of a Tardis and it's a lot bigger than you expect.
The 70's exhibit was a real highlight but that's not to detract from the absorbing and interesting other rooms and displays throughout the museum.
Add to this the ability to return on your admission within a year and all in all, a great morning out in Pickering.
發表日期:2022年4月24日
這則評論是 Tripadvisor 會員的主觀意見,而非 TripAdvisor LLC 的意見。

Nicola W
1 則投稿
2022年4月 • 家庭式
Great morning here with the kids. Lots to look at for all ages with carefully curated displays and exhibits. Very friendly and helpful volunteers and free childrens Easter crafts.
發表日期:2022年4月21日
這則評論是 Tripadvisor 會員的主觀意見,而非 TripAdvisor LLC 的意見。

lisa r
75 則投稿
2022年4月 • 家庭式
We visited today and had a very enjoyable time, there was plenty to look at and the volunteers were very helpful, welcoming and informative. I highly recommend a visit.
發表日期:2022年4月15日
這則評論是 Tripadvisor 會員的主觀意見,而非 TripAdvisor LLC 的意見。

Ben C
英國Redcar31 則投稿
2022年4月 • 家庭式
Very welcoming and knowledgeable staff. Lots of history to see and read about. Good Spring creativity section for young children. We were informed that the staff were altering the rooms layout and content, and had decided to remove a false wall in one room only to discover an old stove which has been forgotten about with all its fixtures and fittings still intact. We will definitely return with more family. This Easter holiday they are open on Sun 17 Apr 22.
發表日期:2022年4月11日
這則評論是 Tripadvisor 會員的主觀意見,而非 TripAdvisor LLC 的意見。

顯示第 1-10 筆搜尋結果,共 432
是否有任何資訊缺少或不正確?
建議編輯以改善我們顯示的內容。
改善此清單
Beck Isle Museum 常見問題

Beck Isle Museum開放時間:
  • 一 - 六 上午10:00 - 下午5:00


Beck Isle Museum附近的餐廳: 在 Tripadvisor 查看Beck Isle Museum附近的所有餐廳